AI Answer Summary
An AI legal assistant can mean four unrelated products: AI-native platforms built for firm-wide matter work, AI tiers layered onto an existing research subscription, assistants embedded inside a document or practice management system, and consumer chatbots that are not sold to law firms at all. Establishing which type you need does more for a shortlist than comparing brands.
None of the leading platforms publishes a price. Third-party estimates vary widely enough to be unreliable on their own, and at any figure within that range, licensing every lawyer at a hundred-lawyer firm costs somewhere between six and seven figures a year.
That points to a different question from the one vendors ask. For a mid-market firm the decision is which lawyers get a seat, what everyone else uses, and which workflows to build rather than license.
What an AI Legal Assistant Is: Four Products, One Name
Four unrelated products share this name, and one of them is not sold to law firms.
You can check this yourself. Search the term and a single page returns firm-grade platforms, a document management add-on, an Australian product, a free legal chat service aimed at the public, and an app-store product selling contract templates to consumers. A buyer working down that list is comparing things that have almost nothing in common.
| Type | What it does | Who buys it | Named examples |
|---|---|---|---|
| AI-native assistant platform | Research, drafting, diligence and multi-step matter work across the firm | Large firms, moving into mid-size | Harvey, Legora |
| Research incumbent AI tier | AI layered onto an existing legal research subscription | Firms already on Westlaw or Lexis | CoCounsel, Lexis+ with Protégé |
| Platform-embedded assistant | AI inside the document or practice management system | Firms committed to that platform | NetDocuments ndMAX, Clio Duo |
| Consumer legal chatbot | Legal information for the public | Not law firms | Various app-store products |
Pick the row before you pick the brand. Rows one and two compete directly with each other, since both want to be where research and drafting happen. Rows one and three often sit side by side in the same firm without conflict.
What AI Legal Assistants Cost, and Why No Vendor Publishes a Price
None of the leading platforms publishes a price, and the figures circulating come mostly from companies selling alternatives.
Pricing and funding checked as of 21.09.2026.
| Product | Pricing status | Figures circulating in third-party sources | Reported seat minimum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harvey | Quote only | $1,200 to $2,000+ per seat per month. Also reported at $500 to $1,500, and at $2,500 | Around 20 to 25 |
| Legora | Quote only | $300 to $800 per seat per month. Also reported at roughly $250 | Around 10 |
| CoCounsel | Quote only | Core around $225 per month, All-In around $850, with Westlaw often required underneath at $200 to $400 | Not reported |
| Lexis+ with Protégé | Quote only | Estimates put the research incumbents' AI seats in a $250 to $500 band | Not reported |
| Paxton | Published | $499 per user per month, or $2,999 per user per year on annual billing | None on the individual plan |
Treat every figure in the third column as unverified. They come from competitor blogs, analyst models, customer accounts and a widely circulated forum thread, and several of them contradict each other. Paxton's numbers are different in kind, because they come from Paxton's own help centre.
Now the arithmetic, which is why the disagreement matters less than it looks.
Take the lowest credible estimate for a top-tier platform and apply it to a hundred lawyers. Firm-wide licensing lands in six figures a year. Take the higher estimates and it passes a million. Every number in that range produces the same conclusion, so you do not need to resolve the disagreement to make the decision. Firm-wide standardisation is not the choice in front of a mid-market firm. Seat allocation is.
Seat minimums are the more reliable number, and for smaller firms they decide everything. A three-lawyer firm facing a ten-seat floor is buying seven empty chairs.
Why prices sit where they do: this market is capitalised for large-firm budgets. PitchBook reports Harvey's most recent raise accounting for 16% of the $3.35 billion invested in legal technology globally in 2026, with three deals taking 40.3% of the year's capital between them. Products get built for the customers funding them.
How We Compared These Tools, and What We Did Not Test
We have not run these products inside a law firm. Neither have most of the articles ranking for this search, which is worth saying out loud.
What this comparison uses:
- Published independent benchmarks, named and dated
- Peer-reviewed accuracy testing, where it exists for that specific product
- Structural facts a buyer can verify without a sales call: product type, integration requirements, whether a price is published, seat minimums
- Vendor positioning in the vendor's own words, identified as such
What it does not use: star ratings from review platforms that vendors pay to appear on, our own impression of product quality, and any claim one vendor makes about a competitor.
The evidence below is thinner and older than anyone would like. Saying so is more useful than implying a testing programme we never ran.
What Independent Testing Shows About Legal AI Accuracy
Three independent studies exist now. All are rigorous, and each describes a market that keeps moving.
| Study | What it tested | Key finding | Date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vals Legal AI Report, Vals AI with Legaltech Hub | Four products against a control group of practising lawyers, on a dataset built by eight law firms | Tools beat the lawyer baseline on document Q&A, summarization and transcript analysis. Lawyers won on redlining, 79.7% against 65.0% | February 2025 |
| Magesh et al., Journal of Empirical Legal Studies | Lexis+ AI, Westlaw AI-Assisted Research, Ask Practical Law AI, and GPT-4 | Lexis+ AI hallucinated on over 17% of queries, Westlaw AI-Assisted Research around 33%, against 43% for GPT-4 | Published 2025, tested May 2024 |
| Vals AI, legal research follow-up (VLAIR) | Three legal AI products and ChatGPT against a control group of practising lawyers, on 200 general legal research questions. Thomson Reuters, LexisNexis and vLex, the three largest AI research platforms, declined to take part | AI tools, including ChatGPT, averaged about 80% accuracy against 71% for lawyers. The study excluded generating formatted citations | October 2025 |
The pattern in the first study is that reading beats amending. Every task the tools won involved reading a document that already existed. The one clear loss involved changing one.
The second study matters for a different reason. LexisNexis was marketing hallucination-free citations at the time, and the researchers tested what that claim survived. It is the first preregistered evaluation of these products, which means the method was fixed before anyone saw results.
Here is the limitation, and it is a large one. The Lexis+ AI that Magesh tested no longer exists. LexisNexis replaced it in February 2026 with Lexis+ with Protégé, describing the tested product as its first-generation AI experience, then expanded the replacement twice more during 2026. So the only peer-reviewed accuracy evidence in this market describes one product that has been retired and another that has been rebuilt.
That is not a reason to ignore the numbers. It is a reason to ask any vendor for current independent testing, and to notice how rarely one exists.
The Best AI Legal Assistants for Law Firms, by Type
These are grouped by type rather than ranked. A single ranking across types would compare products doing different jobs, which is how buyers end up with two tools that overlap and no tool for the thing that was hurting.
Harvey: Best for Firms Running End-to-End Matter Work
Harvey is the most heavily capitalised product in the category and positions around multi-step matter work rather than single tasks. It participated in the Vals benchmark. The company says it partners with most of the hundred largest US firms.
Best for: firms with the budget and the matter volume to run diligence or litigation workflows end to end.
Trade-off: the highest reported pricing and the highest reported seat minimum in this list, and a roadmap written for AmLaw100 requirements. A hundred-lawyer firm is not the customer this product is designed around.
Legora: Best for Cross-Border Teams Working in Microsoft 365
Legora positions around a collaborative workspace where a team works together, rather than an assistant that works alone. Stockholm-based, with a strong Microsoft 365 orientation, and reported seat minimums roughly half of Harvey's.
Best for: teams collaborating on documents across jurisdictions and offices.
Trade-off: less independent testing exists for it than for the research incumbents, so you are relying on your own pilot rather than published evidence.
CoCounsel: Best for Firms Already on Westlaw
Thomson Reuters. CoCounsel participated in the Vals benchmark, and its research sibling was tested in the Magesh study. It is tiered, and Westlaw is frequently required underneath it.
Best for: firms whose research subscription is already in place and who want the AI layer where their research already lives.
Trade-off: the AI price is not the bill. Ask what the total looks like with the research subscription included, since that is where comparisons against AI-native platforms usually go wrong.
Lexis+ with Protégé: Best for Firms Already on Lexis
The same logic from the other research incumbent, though this product has moved fast. LexisNexis replaced Lexis+ AI with Lexis+ with Protégé in February 2026, expanded it in May with a skills and orchestration layer, document vaults and shared workrooms, and rebuilt the orchestration again in August.
Best for: firms already committed to the Lexis content library.
Trade-off: no independent testing covers the current product. The published hallucination figures apply to the predecessor, and we would not attribute them to Protégé. Pace of change is itself worth weighing, since it means the product you evaluate in a pilot may differ from the one you deploy.
Platform-Embedded Assistants: Best for Keeping Work Inside the System of Record
NetDocuments ndMAX and Clio Duo are examples of AI built into the system where the documents already sit. The argument for them is that content never leaves the platform that already holds it, which removes a category of security and confidentiality questions before anyone asks them.
Best for: firms that have already standardised on the platform and want AI where the files are.
Trade-off: capability is bounded by the platform's own roadmap, and you inherit whatever priorities that vendor sets.
Paxton: Best for Testing Before You Commit
Paxton is the one product here that publishes a price on its own site: $499 per user per month, or $2,999 per user per year on annual billing, with a seven-day trial and no seat minimum on the individual plan.
That transparency is the point of including it. A firm can form an evidence-based opinion on its own matters before entering an enterprise procurement cycle, and can walk in knowing what a published legal AI seat costs.
Best for: a firm that wants its own data before committing to a minimum and a twelve-month term.
Trade-off: thinner integrations than the platforms above. Worth noting that third-party sites list Paxton's price at $199, $250, $299 and $500, none of which matches what the vendor publishes, which tells you something about the accuracy of legal AI pricing content generally.
How Many Lawyers Need a Seat
Fewer than the vendor proposes, and the number should come from your own matter data rather than your headcount.
This is the question the market avoids, because every vendor's revenue depends on the answer being everyone.
A workable approach:
- Identify the practice groups whose daily work matches the tasks the benchmarks scored well: document-heavy review, summarization, chronology building from records
- Count the lawyers who do that work weekly rather than occasionally
- Buy for that group, clearing the seat minimum if one applies, with room to expand
- Set the measurement before the pilot starts: hours on the target task per matter, before and after
One caution worth planning for. Partial deployment creates a division inside a partnership between the lawyers who have the tool and the lawyers who do not, and that conversation goes better when someone has thought about it in advance rather than discovering it at a partners' meeting.
For everyone without a seat, a general-purpose assistant under a firm policy covers a good deal of everyday drafting and summarising at a fraction of the cost, provided the policy defines what client data may go into it and who reviews the output.
What to Build Instead of Buying Another Platform
A seat licence does not touch the firm-specific workflows where mid-market money leaks.
Three examples, each covered properly elsewhere: intake file completeness and conflicts screening before substantive questioning, billing narrative quality before the pre-bill reaches a partner, and inbound document triage wired into the systems your firm already runs.
The distinction is worth holding onto. An assistant helps a lawyer do their own work faster. A workflow build changes what reaches the lawyer in the first place. Firms tend to buy the first and stay stuck on the second, because the first is easier to demonstrate and easier to approve.
And the sequencing rule that applies across all of it: automate the work that was already being written off before paying per seat to make billable work faster. On hourly matters, faster billable work produces a smaller invoice.
How Codebridge Works with Mid-Market Law Firms
We build workflows rather than sell seats. Document review triage, intake and conflicts screening, and billing narrative cleanup are the three we are asked for most often by firms in this band.
One workflow goes live in three weeks, wired into the systems the firm already runs, with the approval checkpoint designed in during the first conversation and a record an auditor can read later. Your firm owns the repository, the prompts and the configuration from day one.
We should be straightforward about our position in this comparison. We do not sell an assistant platform and have no seat licence to protect, which is why this article can tell you that fewer of your lawyers need a seat than any vendor on this page will. Our founding team spent more than a decade at KPMG.
If you want to work out which workflow to automate before adding licences, book a 20-minute call.
What is an AI legal assistant?
The term covers four unrelated products: AI-native platforms for firm-wide matter work, AI tiers added to an existing research subscription, assistants embedded in a document or practice management system, and consumer chatbots aimed at the public rather than at firms. Identify the type before comparing brands.
How much does an AI legal assistant cost?
Most leading platforms quote rather than publish. Third-party estimates put enterprise seats between roughly $225 and $2,000 per user per month, and those figures contradict each other. Paxton publishes $499 per user per month. Seat minimums, reported at around 10 to 25, often matter more than the rate.
What is the best AI legal assistant for a law firm?
There is no single answer, because the products do different jobs. Firms on Westlaw or Lexis usually start with the AI tier they can add to an existing subscription. Firms wanting end-to-end matter workflows look at AI-native platforms. Firms wanting to test first look at products that publish a price.
How accurate are AI legal assistants?
Independent benchmarking found these tools beating a lawyer control group at reading and summarising documents and losing at amending them. Peer-reviewed testing found purpose-built research tools hallucinating on 17% to 33% of queries, though those tests ran in May 2024 and one of the products has since been retired. A newer October 2025 benchmark found legal-specific tools and general-purpose models now roughly tied on research accuracy, though that study did not test citation generation.
Do all lawyers at a firm need an AI seat?
No. Start from the practice groups whose daily work matches the tasks these tools do well, count the lawyers doing that work weekly, and buy for that group. Firm-wide licensing at mid-market scale runs from six into seven figures annually at any published estimate.
Is Harvey worth it for a mid-sized firm?
It depends on matter volume rather than headcount. Harvey carries the highest reported pricing and seat minimum in this category and is built around AmLaw100 requirements. A mid-market firm should price the alternatives and be clear about which lawyers would use it weekly before entering that procurement.

Heading 1
Heading 2
Heading 3
Heading 4
Heading 5
Heading 6
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur.
Block quote
Ordered list
- Item 1
- Item 2
- Item 3
Unordered list
- Item A
- Item B
- Item C
Bold text
Emphasis
Superscript
Subscript




























